screenshot_01June 17th marked the release of the much anticipated iPhone OS 3.0. This update has been the most anticipated update, due to the 100 or so new features offered. At approximately 10:15, on Wednesday, June 17th, the new firmware went live in iTunes, and the Apple servers were immediately working overtime. All went fairly well; I only heard a few stories of trouble with activation, after the upgrade, but it was just the servers running slow. Now millions of iPhone owners can take a breath, have a smoke, or whatever you do after such a climax.

If you’ve been reading my blog regularily, you probably know that I am still using a 1st gen iPhone. It has worked awesome for me, and have never had a problem with it. With iPhone 3G S, coming out this Friday, I think I’m finally ready to upgrade, but I still want to try out OS 3.0 on my 1st gen iPhone. My first hurdle is, I need my iPhone Jailbroken, to work on my carrier. So, I sat around all day Wednesday, abusing my refresh button, waiting for QuickPwn 3.0. Alas, it never came.

According to the Dev Team, a couple of issues came up, that prevented them from releasing the 3.0 jailbreak tools. Here’s a quote from their blog:

  • We have two issues that we’ve been trying to resolve:
  1. There are new 3.0 complications with YouTube.app if you’re on a hacktivated (unofficially activated) device
  2. There’s a bug in Apple’s new version of asr that our custom IPSW’s are tickling and causing crashes on, on some devices.  (For the nerdy or curious among us, the details of that bug were tweeted by planetbeing a month ago.)
  • As of Thursday morning we now have a workaround for #2.  For #1, we’ll try our best to get it fixed but we may end up releasing a preliminary jailbreak in which YouTube doesn’t work for hacktivated devices, and then follow that up with a more complete jailbreak when we can.

As of the date and time of this post, there is still no jailbreak. With the new iPhone 3G S, and Ultrasn0w to released tomorrow, we can only assume we’ll get some kind of release, to tide us over, until the YouTube issue is resolved.

