This decade was definitely life changing for me. Many huge life decisions had to be made, making me the man I am today.

Coming into this decade, I had just gotten married to the love of my life, Katharine. We were married in November of ’99, and living in Vancouver. We had already been together for 5 years, and knew we would be together for a long time, so the marriage was merely a formality, in our eyes. Our family and friends had a great time at the wedding, and some of our closest friends, that were in a band, played at the reception, covering a bunch of our favourite songs, making the night perfect. Thanks to all who had a part in that.

I was a struggling musician, for almost half of the decade, playing guitar and singing in the band “tim.“. We released 1 full length album and 1 EP, on Spawner Records, between 2000, and 2004. We toured right across Canada, and made it down to west coast of the US a couple of times. Ultimately, we (the members of the band) started to have different views on life, and we decided to disband in 2006. Our last show was at The Boot Pub, in Whistler, BC, on November 28th, 2004. Although we don’t hang out as much as we should, members of the band are still in contact with one another. I still play music, but it is more of a hobby now. I play bass and sing in a hardcore band called “Left Pocket Dead“. It’s a lot of fun, with no pressure to “succeed”, like I had felt in the past.

2003 was truly, the most life changing year of the decade. Katharine and I had been trying to have a baby for quite some time, and in February, shortly after Valentines Day (wink wink), we found out Katharine was pregnant. On October 2nd, 2003 we welcomed our daughter, Rory Piper McKinnon, into the family. We had a home birth, at 1314 Nanaimo St, in New Westminster, BC. From that moment onward, my life was different. Those of you who have children know what I’m talking about. For those of you who don’t, the only way I can attempt to explain this change is, there is a amazing shift in priorities, in your life. It isn’t something that you have to consciously change. It is an involuntary flick of a switch, that is labeled “Most Important Thing in the World”. With the switch in the down position, it is set to “Myself”. With the switch in the up position, it is set to “Offspring”. At the moment my daughter was born, my switch was flicked on. Rory is 6 now, and still the most important thing in our lives.

After my band broke up in 2004, Katharine and I decided, if things were going to change for us, we were going to go all out, and we decided to move to Victoria, BC, in early 2005. We had lived here years before, but had moved to Vancouver for a change of pace, and to try to get my band more well known. Katharine was offered a position at the head office of the company she worked for (and is still there). Being a musician, I didn’t have a job I could call a career, so I was happy to quit my job as a dispatcher for a security company, and point towards new horizons. I ended up landing a great job as a technician for the local cable provider, where I am still working today.

On June 19th, 2008, I started this blog, Green Candy. At the time, I really didn’t know what I was going to write about, but as I learned more about my iPhone, and the inner workings of the firmware, I knew I wanted to share what I knew, with the world. I got my first iPhone early in 2008. It was a 1st gen, 16GB, jaibroken, unlocked, iPhone. Of course the legit iPhone 3G came out months later, on Rogers. I skipped that one, as I had just spent quite a bit of money on the 1st gen. This past year I finally upgraded, when the iPhone 3GS came out. I have written about the jailbreaking and unlocking of all the firmwares from 1.1.4 to the current 3.1.2, and all kinds of different mods an tweaks. Within in the past few months, I have also started writing for www.iPhoneinCanada.ca, one of the most popular iPhone blogs in Canada.

So, that’s what this decade has meant to me. Thanks to everyone who has been reading. As we head into 2010, we are approaching 100,000 hits, and I still can’t believe a little blog, run by one guy, and with no advertising at all, has reached so many people. The next decade will, more than likely, be full of incredible technological innovations. More than we’ve ever seen, and I’m sure I’ll be here to write about them.

Happy New Year, everyone.

