Dev team, iH8sn0w, have released an update to their jailbreak tool, sn0wbreeze. This update will jailbreak all Apple touch devices, on firmware 3.1.3, except those on the newer bootrom, (iPod Touch 3g, and newer iPhone 3GS).

Sn0wbreeze is similar to the iPhone Dev Team‘s Pwnage Tool, in that it creates a custom firmware that you use to restore with, in iTunes. This is for Windows users, only. I will say that I tested the beta of their 3.1.2 release, and it failed miserably. I ended up having to do an official restore, after trying it. I was trying it on my iPhone 3GS that I purchased on launch day, and jailbroke shortly after, so I know it has the older boot rom. Use this tool at your own risk.

The steps are pretty easy. To prepare yourself, make sure you have a copy of your device’s 3.1.3 firmware handy. Typically, keeping it on your desktop is easiest. Then download sn0wbreeze 3.1.3. You can get it here. Run the exe.

Click the blue arrow to get started. Then select “Simple Mode”, and click the blue arrow again.

Click browse and navigate to the correct IPSW for your device.

In my case, I’m using an iPhone 3GS firmware, and I get this warning. Make sure you are certain your 3GS has the old boot rom. If your 3GS is already jailbroken on 3.1.2, you know you are safe. If you have updated to the official 3.1.3, you’re out of luck. If you are sure, click “I Understand”.

Click the blue arrow, once sn0wbreeze has verified your IPSW.

Decide if you need hacktivation, or not. If you are on an official carrier, you click “No”. If you need to unlock, you click “Yes.

sn0wbreeze will now build your custom IPSW.

Once it is finished you will see this screen, letting you know everything went well and you are now ready to restore in iTunes. If you are jailbreaking an iPhone 3GS, you will be asked to put your device in recovery mode. If you jailbroking an iPhone 3G or 2G, you will be asked to put your device in DFU mode.

To restore, just press Shift and click the Restore button, in iTunes, on your device’s summary screen. Then navigate to your new custom firmware. It should be on your desktop.

I will say again, I have not tried the restore on my iPhoen 3GS, so I can’t say if the jailbreak is successful, or not. I can say that building the IPSW was very easy. I used sn0wbreeze in Windows 7, on an iMac, via Parralels, and everything ran smooth. I would wait to hear some success stories, before jumping into this.

TRY THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK, NEITHER I, NOR THE CREATORS OF THIS SOFTWARE TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANYTHING THAT MAY HAPPEN TO YOUR DEVICE, DURING THIS PROCESS.

UPDATE: Seems I’m not the only one leary of this software. MuscleNerd, of the iPhone Dev Team posted this on Twitter today:

Most smart jailbreakers have not bothered with this update, as there are no new features, just bug fixes. Let’s just wait until we get more stable tools from our favourite jailbreak team. MuscleNerd does say “wait” for Pwnage Tool, so they must be working on it.

