Yesterday, Feb 11, 2010, Shaw Communications cut positions from a few departments in their Victoria, BC system. Arguably, one of the most successful systems, in Shaw’s repertoire, cut back on at least 5 positions, that I am aware of. This comes as a surprise, as the company just reported great earings in the first quarter of fiscal 2010. The positions were varied, from office staff to field staff, so it would seem the company is trying to save money, all around.

I am not sure if this has happened in other Shaw systems, accross Canada. I tried to contact Shaw’s Human Resources Coordinator, Rachel Paisley, for a comment, but she is conveniently, “out of the office” this week.

Cutting jobs means more cash on the bottom line, so this will most likely make stock prices rise. Could this be the reason for the layoffs? This is unknown.

I am sad to report that I was one of the unlucky few who lost their position at Shaw yesterday. This definitely comes as a shock to me and my family. It will take some time to figure out what I want to do next, in life, but I’m sure I will land on my feet.

As of the time of this post, it is still unknown why these posotions were cut, as Shaw has yet to officially comment on the situation.

UPDATE (Feb 13, 2010): I ran into a former co-worker today. He told me another 5 people were let go, the following day. I wonder how many more across the country have lost their jobs?

UPDATE (Feb 16, 2010): Rumour is 10 more people were let go today. I have not been able to confirm this, but I got the info from a good source. Why is there nothing in the news about this?

