A great new tool was released in Cydia today, that allows you to record a video capture of your iPhone screen. It is simply called “ScreenRecorder”, and comes from developer Elton Bolzanac. There are some limitations, as video recording is a pretty intense process, but this is a great first version.

Here’s the official description, from Cydia:

This application let’s you take video captures of your screen. This is extremely useful for quick tutorials or demonstrations, or when you want to show proof of a new hack you have accomplished. There are obviously many other uses for this. For example, you could use this like a “Notes” application, but with video instead of words!

Keep in mind that video recording is a very intense process, so crashing is very frequent on videos that have a capture time of more than 45 seconds.

Must be installed with ffmpeg.

Application must be quit in between two captures. (There is a quit button in-app).

New in v1.2:

-No more need for Backgrounder

-Updated to work with ffmpeg from Cydia

-Now has option to delete videos from within application.

Here’a a short video of the app in action:

I have not had a chance to try this out, but I have been waiting for something like this for a long time, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it. Another great reason to jailbreak your iPhone!

UPDATE: I got to use this app and thought I would share my findings with you. The quality of the video that ScreenRecorder can do, is about the same as using ScreenSplitr with Demo God. Pretty low frame rate. Here’s my video review:

